Old Faithful

Meet the van:

It’s a 1996 Chevy Astrovan.  It’s the best of vans, because it can fit full sheets of drywall and plywood and all of my furniture at once.  Between its awesome power and my plucky little Subaru, we’ve been able to haul everything: from furniture deliveries to Home Depot runs to moving me and all my stuff halfway across the state.  That van has seem some great days.  It’s been indispensable.

It’s also the worst of vans, because it is a relic that is becoming more and more prone to breakdowns.  The stereo is busted.  The back hatch holds the Dutch doors in place because the latch snapped off.  And last night N and I were driving to an auction and… weird noise.  No oil pressure.  We pulled into a gas station and N consulted the Haynes manual…

…while I called AAA for a tow back to our place.  The guy was all, “Want me to tow this directly to the scrapyard?”

We told him no.  We’re not planning to say goodbye just yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Faithful

  1. Mike Webster says:

    I loved my all-wheel drive Safari, BUT. fixing it was a killer.

  2. Jim says:

    I hope you got it fixed by now.

Leave a Reply

