Notes from a Meat Lover: Beef on Weck edition

Hello again, it’s MC Casual BlogStyles again, filling in for Allison while she is still dealing with hand issues.  You may remember me as that chick who made limoncello.  So you already know that I am a lush, but I think it’s time to introduce a new facet of myself to you: meat lover.

Yes, it’s true: I love meat.  For example, I am eating deli turkey out of the bag as I type this.  That is my snack.  In the interest of full disclosure, I may as well admit that I was a vegan for about 3 months, and it was the worst time of my life.  No offense to vegans out there.  I just couldn’t do it.  Anyway, my life is a lot happier now that meat is back in it and I can do outrageous things like yell “Thank God there’s bacon!” and eat a lunch consisting only of pork sausage, like I did yesterday:

cooking my lunch: the sausage, the whole sausage, and nothing but the sausage

Right, so I am visiting Allison, and you may not know it, but the Buffalo area is famous for an amazing sandwich, the Beef on Weck.  I was first introduced to the concept of beef on weck by the show Alias, believe it or not, in the episode Jason Segel makes a cameo and expresses his saudade for the sandwich in question.

“Interesting,” I thought to myself.  “I wonder if Allison knows what that is.”

She did, and you should too: it’s thinly-sliced roast beef on kümmelweck, which is a special kind of roll with tons of kosher salt and caraway.  It’s very juicy.  Does that sound appealing to you?  It should.  The next time I visited, I badgered her until she took me to Swiston’s, which is a magical restaurant on the canal that serves beef on weck, beer, and free popcorn.

I ate two sandwiches before anyone else had finished their first.  And now every time I come up here, I have to make a pilgrimage to Swiston’s, or else my life is not complete.  Would that Swiston’s were a national chain….

Now, to finish off this post, since there is only so much I can write about beef on weck without drooling on the keyboard, here are some pictures of beautiful women with beef on wecks (beefs on weck?):

This entry was posted in food, local and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

